Give us money
Podcast Feeds
itunes subscribe

Metal Pole

How amazing is Wintersun's Time I?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

STRATOVARIUS’ “Polaris” gets a release date

Finnish power metal legends Stratovarius will release their new album “Polaris” in the US on May 26. The band that was thought dead (by me) after main man Timo Tolkki left amidst a cloud of dramatic bullshit return with a new album and 2 new band members. Lauri Porra replaced super bassman Jari Kalinueandrogenusorsomething and some young finnish guitar wiz, whose name still escapes me, took over the Tolkster’s duties. Here’s the tracklist:

01. Deep Unknown
02. Falling Star
03. King of Nothing
04. Blind
05. Winter Skies
06. Forever Is Today
07. Higher We Go
08. Somehow Precious
09. Emancipation suite: I Dusk
10. Emancipation suite: II Dawn
11. When Mountains Fall

I have a thing for judging upcoming albums based on how dumb the tracklists are, but this one seems pretty ok. Also, I found this video on blabbermouth’s page on the story which features the band shooting a video for what I imagine is the single off the new album, where they appear to be playing in the middle of a hurricane.

It’s also got some classic finnish retarded humor and a medley of songs off “Polaris”, which are surprisingly not horrible sounding so far. Let’s hope they deliver this time around.

One Response to “STRATOVARIUS’ “Polaris” gets a release date”
Leave a Reply

7 Years and 20 Days and it's finally out!